Creative Thoughts

The Rhythm of my Heart

(A little more writing this month, hopefully, as I take a class and stretch my writing muscles.  Here is my response to today’s challenge: Write about three songs that have meaning to you.) 

sheeran

Small Bump

It’s on my playlist for the gym, about half way through.  Right about that time when my quads are screaming and my mind is wandering and the sweat is sticking.  Right in the middle where I start to rationalize all the reasons I can quit my workout early and still have reaped some benefit.  Right at the point where I want to be weak and give in.  This song isn’t there by accident.  I put it there on purpose.  To motivate me.  To remind me that there are so many fights much harder than a getting through a workout.  This song is written by Ed Sheeran.  I heard him on the iTunes Festival one year and immediately was sold.  This particular song has a catchy beat which makes it great for pumping up a workout.  But the story is what catches me.  I always love lyrics over melodies and every song I know means more when I know the why behind it’s words.  This song was written for a friend who lost a baby and well, it gets me every time.  You know that saying about walking a mile in another person’s shoes?  I do that on the elliptical every time I hear this song, and I think I’m a better person for it.

be thou

Be Thou My Vision

There are so many things that can distract me in a day.  I really am like the dog from UP,  ‘Squirrel’.  Where was I?  Right, this song.  It reminds me of my focus.  Of the eyes I want to see the world through.  This song was played at our wedding, the first of many choices The Hubster and I would make together.  We wanted to start off on the right foot, heading in the right direction.  Looking to the right source for guidance.  We could spend our married lives looking to each other, how to make each other happy.  That could lead to all kinds of temptation to ‘one up’ each other, or buy things we cannot afford, or spend our lives springing from one source of instant gratification to another.  We could spend our lives comparing ourselves to those around us and try to ‘keep up with the Joneses’ or ‘have it all’.  Or we could focus in on God, make Him the Centre right from the beginning and try to see through His eyes whatever may come our way.  I’m not saying it’s been easy.  I’m not saying we don’t get distracted.  But this song grounds me and reminds me the way I mean to go.

sarah

Adia

This one may be reaching, I tend to be a little abstract at times, so take it with a grain of salt.  From my understanding of interviews and articles I read about the song; it has to do with the breaking and healing of the relationship between Sarah McLachlan and her best friend.  There relationship got rocky when McLachlan started dating her best friend’s boyfriend.  McLachlan ended up marrying that guy- so I can imagine ‘rocky’ is a pretty gentle way to describe how things were between the two friends.  But they patched it up.  The whole ‘sisters before misters’ came in to play and the two remain friends, (and the marriage did not last).  To me Adia is a song about the responsibility we all bear for our decisions.  Sometimes what is right for us hurts another.  Sometimes we make the wrong decision.  We can handle that in two ways:  We can run from it, leaving a path of destruction and hurt; or we can face our decisions and ask for forgiveness where needed, offer explanation where one is due and move forward.  Admitted, her theology is a little mixed up with my personal views, but I don’t think we need to throw the baby out with the bathwater, this song will always be one of my favourites.  So much so it’s The Diva’s middle name.

One thought on “The Rhythm of my Heart

  1. I remember “Be Thou My Vision” on your wedding day. It was moving that you and Nick had your priorities the right way round. Your insights are always thought provoking. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

