Pin-Spiration

PinUps Week 2

I had one of those weeks where I went to bed on Monday night and woke up on Friday morning.  Where did the days go?  Those kinds of weeks always throw me for a loop, and it took me a while to remember that I even did anything Pinspired this week, so excited that I did. How embarrassing if it had been Week 2 of this weekly feature and I missed the boat.

This week I shared Pinterest ideas for our mid-week Kids’ Club.  We have been learning about David, and this month we’re focusing on his creativity in writing the Psalms.  I found this Pinterest board that had ideas like these lanterns based on Psalm 119:105; ‘Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet.”  Each of our classes found their own ideas and used this collection of pins as a springboard to create the evening.  Share the love, share the pins, folks.

ImageThen on Thursday we welcomed Spring with a cold, blustery day.  We have a paper route we do as a family and this week it was hard to get those papers done.  We all just wanted to be inside where it was warm.  But then I had an idea.

Last fall I pinned a recipe for individual chocolate chip cookies that you make in a mug.  I’m sure they have a trendier name.  We ate them after our last family photo shoot, warmed us right up.  So I told the girls if they could deliver the papers with daddy in 15 minutes I would make them a special dessert.  They shot right out the door, and managed to do the papers in record time!  I held up my end of the deal, Nolan and I got busy.  Luckily the pin had the directions right under the picture because the link no longer worked!  So here’s what we did:

Image

First we melted 1 Tbsp of butter, right in the cup, (why dirty extra dishes?).  Then we put in 1 Tbsp white sugar, 1 Tbsp brown sugar, 1/4 tsp of vanilla, 1 egg yolk and stirred it up all nice and smooth.

Then we added in 1/4 cup of flour and 2 Tbsp of chocolate chips.  We put it in the microwave for 60 seconds and let it cool a bit.

Of course we had to make 6, so we had a little assembly line going.  We barely had time to finish the special dessert before the kids got back home.  Saved by Pinterest again.

Image

Those were my pins this week…. I feel like I should have a catchy phrase to close off these posts…. but what?

Leave a Reply

