Monday's Musings

Do you Ponder what I Ponder?

Every year Christmas seems to sneak up on me and there is a mad rush to get everything pulled together.  Every year, except this year.  Christmas didn’t sneak up at all.  I bought the presents, the tree was trimmed, but something was missing.  It left a huge hole in my holiday spirit and has made it feel like Christmas 2013 didn’t really happen.

Where were all the people?

There wasn’t any kind of Christmas event at our church this year.  No brunch, no ladies morning, no family get together, no volunteer gatherings.  There aren’t ever any ‘office parties’ for us- (or maybe there is but we have them everyday…..).  We ended up skipping the kids Christmas concert because it was -20 and the event was happening outdoors.  Traditionally December is a month where you try and fit ‘it’ all in, ours was empty save for two events. Now it may just be that we aren’t that popular, but there was a lack of people and that has left a gaping hole in my Christmas spirit.

Some of my favourite parts of Christmas involve people.

Saying ‘thank you’ to them.  Showing them how much you appreciate them.  But just dropping off a gift is only half the fun.  I missed the gatherings this year.  The silly games and the food and the music and the noise.  Our house is small, but we can fill it to the rafters a few times a year…. I suppose it’s time to remember that and bring the party here because not being in a crowd made our Christmas way too quiet.

Image

 Making gifts for people who are special to you, (I forgot to take pics of my other ones).  Or searching high and low for The. Perfect. Gift.  I’m the kind of person who searches for gifts all year long.  The better I know you, the harder I search.  This year there was a lack of gifts beyond our front door.  I felt largely uninspired this year, (it’s been a bit draining).  The lack of gift searching led to a lack of Christmas excitement.  It just got bumped up on my priority list.

ImageThis year Christmas just felt ‘meh’ (and it didn’t have anything to do with the Epic Ice Storm), and the only thing I can put my finger on is that the people were missing. Like I said before, maybe I just have to eat some humble pie and cash in the reality check that I’m just not that popular, but it feels a bit bigger than me.

Like people aren’t investing in community they way we have in the near past.  Like we’ve traded tweets for drop ins; FaceTime for face-to-face hang outs, status updates for coffee dates, forums for conversation.  For all the access we have to the world around us our worlds seem to be shrinking while we spend more time in front of screens and less time in the company of others.

Like I said, maybe it’s just me.

But maybe it isn’t.

Leave a Reply

