Creative Living

sPA day our way

Today was a PA day here in G-town and I knew it was coming, so I made a plan.  And of course the plan didn’t end up working.  The Zoo at today’s temperature would have not have been fun for the kiddos, especially Lukas, and so onto Plan B.  

I set my alarm for 6:30 so I could be up ahead of the kids and get the ball rolling on our day of super awesomeness.  Guess who got woken up at 6:00…..yep.  I sent the child back to bed and she cried the whole way there which got everyone to tossing and turning.  Our day of super awesomeness was on the verge of terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-ness.  I was GROUCHY.  I banished everyone from my bedroom, left the baby to cry for a few minutes and got myself re-centered with a few minutes in the Word. 

Then I left my room ready to take on the World. 

ImageWe started off with a pancake brunch and a Bible Story.  (Our new habit for February is reading a Bible Story with breakfast, don’t hand me a cape….yet). 

Image

While the kids ate breakfast I threw dinner in the crock pot so I didn’t have to worry about it through the day or forget and end up ordering in/trying to find something to make while everyone melts down.  My crock pot, j’adore.ImageThen we took turns through our Spa rotation.  One child had a bubble bath, another got their nails done complete with foot bath and massage, another entertained Lukas and the fourth worked on their homework while waiting for their nails to dry. It went pretty smoothly.  

ImageOoh la la, pretty.  By this point the kids were pretty tired of being inside and cooped up.  I totally get recess.  But I wasn’t about to try anything fun outside today.  As myself I love winter, as a parent it exhausts me.  So we got our exercise another way. 

ImageMovie and a Workout.  (There’s a stay at home date night idea for ya).   I’ve seen them floating around Pinterest; basically take an old school drinking game and replace shots with burpees.  It only lasted about 15 minutes of them watching for the parts and doing the exercises, but that was all I needed to distract them and get lunch on the table. 

ImageLunch was nothing spectacular, (wieners, cheese and chips).  We chased it down with hot chocolate and marshmallows. I had thought this was the perfect opportunity to write our Christmas thank you letters, but my printer mysteriously ran out of ink…..

The kids took to playing with Lego and colouring while Isabella worked on her first out-of-class-time school project.  A diorama of the Arctic. 

ImageShe is making an igloo, dog sled, polar bear and painting the Northern Lights.  I nudged her towards a few revisions because we had some things in the house but not all of them.  But she’s doing it all on her own.  It’s a work in progress.  

Then came dinner, (and daddy got home).  Slow cooker mac and cheese, which I tried to double the recipe but I think my conversions were wrong cuz it was light on the mac and heavy on the cheese.  After dinner Isabella had a play date at a friend’s house so we attempted a Games Night with the other kids.  We’ve tried before to do games night, but the kids were all so little that it was just frustrating and we gave up.

ImageWe will definitely have another one! It’s crazy how quickly the kids have grown.  Brooklyn actually seemed to have strategy at some points in Uno.  Kathryn explained Candyland to Brooklyn since she had never played before.  They even cheated at our Winnie-The-Pooh Seek and Find.  Isabella returned from her playdate and we got cozied up to end the day with ice cream in waffle cone bowls and a movie. 

Image(Excuse the mess, we were busy making memories.) We watched the newest Disney Fairies movie, Secret of the Wings.  Highly recommend.  

We tucked the children in just before 9:30 pm which means this PA day was a 12 hour day for me.  

And we’re doing it all again tomorrow! Different activities, same time frame.  Sometimes I wonder what it is I do all day, nothing really seems to get accomplished, but breaking up my 12 hour work day into bite sized chunks helps me realize I do a lot.  It helps me to stop determining my success by how clean my house is and start defining it by how happy my home is.  

I got all thumbs up at the end of the day, which is a five star rating around these parts.  A lot of effort and that’s all the reward I need. 

3 thoughts on “sPA day our way

  1. Don’t you just love it when someone with a “career” asks you just what you find to do ALL day. I used to get that when I was “at home” with the boys and babysitting any number of kids from the neighbourhood. lol One day I wrote up a schedule with times and time frames for each activity and had it ready for the next person who asked.

    Every moment of the day is soooo worth it and it all passes way to quickly. I have wonderful memories of our guys when they were little.

  2. 3 cheers for you!! That sounds like an amazing day! Making memories & a happy home IS much more important than a spotless home!

  3. You are such a cool Mom, I want to be just like you when I grow up! …. Wait…I better get going on that! Thanks for always inspiring me to be a better version of myself!

Leave a Reply

