Creative Thoughts

Creative Living

Lately my kids have started asking me what I want to be when I grow up.  The very question that has tormented me since I knew you had to choose.  I envy those who just knew they wanted to be a marine biologist or an astronaut, a teacher or a policeman, a movie star or a poet.  Usually I tell them; ‘When I grow up I want to be a mom.’ because I am grown up and I am a mom and I don’t want them to think I’m doing something I don’t want to be doing.  

But when I sit down to consider the question deeply I find myself without an occupational answer.  The only thing I know I want to be is creative.  

I love how the dictionary defines the verb: create; to cause to come into being, as something unique that would not naturally evolve or that is not made by ordinary processes; to evolve from one’s own thought or imagination, as a work of art or invention. I get that tingling sensation on the back of my neck when I think about it.  So much potential, so much power, so much possibility.  To me creativity is embedded in each of us and cannot be separated from our physical being, our emotional state or our mental faculties. This belief is solidified by my faith; I believe in God.  I believe that He created the earth and everything in it.  I believe that He created me in His image and I believe that means He created me to be creative.  

I’m on a journey that may lead to an occupation based on creativity and I have no idea where I’m going or what I’m going to learn along the way.  I’m on a mission to find more time in my everyday to get my hands and mind into a creative space.  I have a desire to help develop creative thinking and activities within my children.  

I think that just as patience is a virtue to be developed so is creativity, and the pursuit of the creative is one I want to invest in. I hope you will join me and together we can create something wonderful.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

